In the early 1960s, Pacific School of Religion participated in the creation of the Graduate Theological Union, a daring experiment in ecumenical cooperation between Protestant and Catholic institutions. Since then, the GTU has developed into an interfaith consortium, exploring relationships among a growing number of traditions including Western Christianity, Eastern Orthodoxy, Judaism, Buddhism, Islam, Hinduism, Jainism, and Sikhism.

The GTU is composed of nine seminaries — five Protestant, three Roman Catholic, and one Unitarian Universalist — and 11 affiliates, academic centers, and programs, which bring faith traditions into dialogue with each other, raise awareness of social justice issues, develop programs in emerging fields of theological inquiry, and connect the GTU to a wider community.