Alumni/ae Council

Diana Becton (MTS ’15)

El Sobrante, CA

Diana BectonJudge Becton attended Oakland Public Schools, and earned a Masters of Theological Studies at Pacific School of Religion (2015). Judge Diana Becton is a Superior Court Judge in Contra Costa County, appointed to the bench in 1995, and has served in numerous leadership roles including, Presiding Judge, Assistant Presiding Judge, Supervisor Civil Fast Track, Supervisor Felony Criminal Calendar.  She is President of the National Association of Women Judges, the nation’s leading voice for women in the judiciary.

Judge Becton received honors: CCCBOS Outstanding Judiciary/Community Service (2017); CABL Bernard S. Jefferson, Judge of the Year (2016); CWL “Rose Bird Memorial” (2012); Positive contributions City of Richmond (2016); National Organization of Black Law Enforcement, “Trail Blazer” (2014); BWOPA Honoree 2013; ABWA (2012) “Women of Distinction”; CWL (2011-2012) Women of Distinction;” KGO “African American Salute (2012); “Judicial Excellence Award,” CABL Judicial Section (2011); “Judge of the Year” Alameda-Contra Costa Trial Lawyers (2007); “Award of Judicial Excellence, Charles Houston Bar Association” (2006); Black Women Lawyers of Northern California (2011).

She convened “Clean Slate Day (2016),” helping over 800 individuals clean up criminal records and traffic tickets, and Co-Chaired “Know Your Rights,” a Youth Symposium for West Contra Costa County, as part of a dialogue to educate communities.

Judge Becton serves as faculty and a minister at her church in Richmond, teaching theology for LIAT of Allen Temple, and is a frequent lecturer, teacher and preacher both at home an nationally.

Judge Becton serves on The State Bar Council on Access and Fairness Committee, and is the Vice-Chair.  In 2008, the Chief Justice, appointed her to the Judicial Council Advisory Committee on Civil Jury Instructions, in 2007 to the Judicial Council Access and Fairness Advisory Committee (re-appointed 2010; 2014), where she served as Chair of the Women of Color Subcommittee.